Welcome to HKAECT 2020

Learning Environment and Design: Current and Future

Call for Papers

The environment in which individuals teach and learn have been changing. New media and technology have infiltrated and shaped our learning environment from merely physical spaces into multifaceted possibilities. This gives rise to several important issues, such as “How can we design learning environments that harness technology appropriately to better engage learners?” and “What roles should learners and educators play in this changing learning environment?” The HKAECT International Conference 2020 provides a timely forum to link local and international academics, researchers, educators, and practitioners among institutions, societies and the global village to exchange theoretical perspectives of and practical insights into current and future designs of learning environments. The Conference aims at enhancing the contributions of applied research and scholarship, supporting the developments and applications of new conceptual frameworks, improving the quality of contemporary practices, and encouraging the continuous revisits of theories pertaining to learning, communication and new media.

The HKAECT International Conference 2020 cordially invites submissions for topics relevant to the themes above, including but not limited to the following:

  • Online learning and blended learning
  • Learning Environment and Design
  • New Generation of Learners and Learning, and the Role of Educators
  • MOOCs, Open Education, Open Educational Resources (OER)
  • Gamification and game-based learning
  • Assessment, Learning Analytics, Artificial Intelligence in Education
  • Communication and New Media
  • Media Psychology and Positive Media Psychology

Other relevant topics are also welcomed.


Paper and Presentation

For questions about the submission, please contact: hkaectconference@gmail.com

Important Dates

Call for Papers The deadline is 1 April 2020 and the submission is closed.
Presentation Submission 15 January 2020

The deadline is 1 April 2020 and the submission is closed.

The length of each full paper, including the abstract, tables, figures, appendices, references, etc., should be contained within eight to twenty A4 pages. All full papers submitted will be subject to a blind peer review process. Upon acceptance, and subject to authors’ successful registrations to the Conference, your manuscripts will be included in a new volume under the Educational Communications and Technology Yearbook series to be published by Springer and indexed by Web of Science. English is the working language of the Conference. Authors who are not native English speakers are strongly encouraged to seek professional English editing services before their submissions to the Conference. The maximum number of an author’s submissions is two, irrespective of whether he or she is the first author of each manuscript or not.

Template *Please do not add author details for blind review

A Sample Paper

Keynotes and Invited Speakers

Keynotes and Invited Speakers

Dr. Bart Rienties,
Professor of Learning Analytics

Institute of Educational Technology The Open University, UK

Dr. Michael Grant,

AECT University of South Carolina, USA

Dr. Timothy K. F. Hew
Associate Dean (Research Higher Degree) cum Director

Centre for Information Technology in Education, Faculty of Education The University of Hong Kong

Mr. Nick Melchior
Executive Editor

Social Sciences in Australia and New Zealand Springer Nature

Program Organisation

International Advisory Board, Organizing Committee and International Program Committee

International Advisory Board

Hsin-Tzu (Tommy) CHEN TAECT / Chinese Culture University

Michael M. GRANT AECT / University of South Carolina


Brad HOKANSON AECT / University of Minnesota

Siu Cheung KONG The Education University of Hong Kong

Eugene KOWCH AECT / University of Calgary

Feng-Qi LAI Indiana State University

Alice Y. LEE Hong Kong Baptist University

In-sook LEE KSET / Sejong University

Kedong LI South China Normal University

Lin LIN SICET / University of North Texas

Juhong LIU SICET / James Madison University

Meifung LIU Beijing Normal University

Trey MARTINDALE AECT / Mississippi State University

Kay A. PERSICHITTE AECT / University of Wyoming

Michael J. SPECTOR AECT / University of North Texas

Chiu-Kay TANG Chu Hai College of Higher Education

Timothy TEO Murdoch University

Allan H. K. YUEN Yew Chung College of Early Childhood Education

Jianhua ZHAO Southern University of Science and Technology

Conference Chair

Will W. K. MA Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi)

Program Co-Chairs

Kar-wai TONG City University of Hong Kong

Anna TSO Open University of Hong Kong


Shurui BAI The University of Hong Kong

Wendy CHAN Chu Hai College of Higher Education

Cat Miaoting CHENG The University of Hong Kong

Chenggui DUAN Chu Hai College of Higher Education


Timothy K. F. HEW The University of Hong Kong

Rose FONG QAHE / Northumbria University London

Cora Junru YANG Harbour School

Carol YIU Chu Hai College of Higher Education


International Program Committee

Haruna ABDULKADIR Hassan Usman Katsina Polytechnic

Musa ABDULLAHI Jigawa State College of Education

Beth Teagarden BAIR University of Miami

Rik BAIR University of Miami

Chi-Keung (Alex) CHAN Hong Kong Shue Yan University

Shih Chien CHANG Chu Hai College of Higher Education

Yang-Hsueh CHEN National Chengchi University

Lesa M CLARKSON University of Minnesota

Meng CUI South China Normal University

Michele DELLA-VENTURA Music Academy "Studio Musica"

Liping DENG Hong Kong Baptist University

Xiaoqing GU East China Normal University

Angeline GUO Macquarie University

Kevin Kai-wing HO University of Guam

Iris LAI

Wilfred W. F. LAU The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Tracy LEE Chu Hai College of Higher Education

Yan LI Zhejiang University

Jiaqi LIANG Beijing Normal University-Hong Kong Baptist University United International College

Michael LINDSTROM Bethel University

Jiutong LUO The University of Hong Kong

Joy Jin MAO Wilkes University

Scott MCLEOD University of Colorado-Denver

Lin MEI Hubei Radio and Television University

Su MU South China Normal University

Steven K. K. NG University of Sunderland

James NWAKPUDAU Federal University of Technology (Minna, Niger State)

Shaun NYKVIST Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Ann OOMS Kingston University and St George’s, University of London

Kemiki OLUROTIMI FUTMinna (Niger State)

Aynur SARISAKALOGLU Turkish-German University

Hing Wa (Helena) SIT The University of Newcastle (Australia)

Yong TAN Kent State University

Ying TANG The University of Hong Kong

Jessica TO The University of Hong Kong

Kam-Hou VAT University of Macau

Jue WANG Central China Normal University

Diane WILCOX James Madison University

Chi Hung WONG The Open University of Hong Kong

Wanli XING University of Florida

XiaYing XU Beijing Normal University-Hong Kong Baptist University United International College

Eunice Pui-yu YIM The Open University of Hong Kong

Yi ZHANG Central China Normal University

Jianhua ZHAO Southern University of Science and Technology

Meina ZHU Wayne State University

Join Our Event



The University of Hong Kong Libraries